Coronavirus update: India will not grant visas to people from France, Spain and Germany

As an extra precautionary measure to control the rising cases of Coronavirus, the India government limited the entry of people coming from France, Germany and Spain. According to the news reports, India has also halted normal and e-Visas to the nationals from these countries.

As per a circular issued by the Bureau of Immigration, all regular (sticker) Visas and e-Visas granted to tourists from Germany, Spain and France issued on or before March 11, 2020, and travellers who have not yet visited India have been withdrawn with immediate effect.

In addition, normal visas and e-visas, given to people who have stayed the three above-mentioned countries on or after February 1 and who have not yet returned to India, have also been suspended.


On Tuesday, Cabinet Secretary Rajiv Gauba addressed an assembly of secretaries of various ministries and departments regarding the issue of limiting the spread of the deadly Covid-19. The decision to put a restriction on giving visas to the nationals of Spain, Germany and France was taken in this meeting.

As per an official statement of the Union Health Ministry, the status, course of action, willingness, and management of COVID-19 cases in India was also evaluated in the meeting.

As of now, more than 100 countries in the world have described cases of COVID-19 infection. The Union Health Ministry has advised Indian citizens coming from overseas to investigate their health and take precautions to prevent the risk of COVID-19 infection.

Read more about the travel news at DivertLife!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *